Open access

After 14 years, the Multinational Congress on Microscopy again took place in Croatia, this time in Rovinj, on September 24–29, 2017, at the unique design Hotel Lone. MCM 2017 was jointly organized by the Croatian Microscopy Society, with the Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb. The biannual MCM conference series is coordinated by 8 societies: Austrian Society for Electron Microscopy (ASEM), Croatian Microscopy Society (CMS), Czechoslovak Microscopy Society (CSMS), Hungarian Society for Microscopy (HSM), Italian Society of Microscopical Sciences (SISM), Serbian Society for Microscopy (SSM), Slovenian Society for Microscopy (SDM) and Turkish Society for Electron Microscopy (TEMD).

MCM 2017 brought together leading experts and young researchers who develop microscopy methods and apply them in the fields of life and material sciences. Altogether, more than 450 delegates from 30 countries participated. Besides a keynote and seven plenary lectures, 42 invited talks and 84 short talks in 3 parallel sections (Life Sciences, Materials and Instrumentation) were presented, and 175 posters were on display. Lunch workshops were available to the participants during four days. A real highlight was the Keynote Lecture delivered by a pioneer of the aberration-corrected electron microscopy, professor Harald Rose (Ulm University, Germany). Besides giving a first-hand historic perspective on the development of electron microscopy, which included a slide of the original part list, prices included, of the very first electron microscope constructed by Ernst Ruska, he presented preliminary results of the SALVE project that achieved sub-Å resolution at 40kV. Superb plenary lectures were given also by Jürgen Plitzko (Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried, Germany), Paul Midgley (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom), Marko Kreft (University of Ljubljana, Slovenia), Miran Čeh (Jožef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia) and Eva Roblegg (Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz, Austria). A satellite workshop, COEX – Combining electrons with X-rays for integrated in-operando experiments, was organized by SISM in Trieste prior to the congress (September 23–24, 2017).

MCM 2017 hosted the EMS Outstanding Paper Award Ceremony, which included short presentations by one awardee (Daniel Jacobsson) and on behalf of two others (Jürgen Plitzko and Eli Zeldov). After a two-day peer review, the best poster awards were also presented to Veronika Blahnova from Charles University in Prague (Life Sciences), Daniel Knez from Graz University of Technology (Instrumentation), and Gregor Kapun from National Institute of Chemistry in Ljubljana (Materials). Four social events were also highlights of the MCM 2017.

Finally, we would like to thank all the participants for their scientific contributions. Our heartfelt thanks are due to the International and Local Organizing Committee, the institutional and industrial sponsors and Conference Chairs.

Goran Kovačević, Assoc. Prof. and dr. sc. Krunoslav Juraić

Guest Editors of the Special Issue

If the inline PDF is not rendering correctly, you can download the PDF file here.

You can download the Article Template Guideline from HERE



Language: English

Founded in 2015
Publication: One volume of four issues annually
Publication Programme: 2020. Vol. 5.

Publishing Model: Gold Open Access (for details click HERE.)
Article Processing Charge: No author fee
No article submission charges
Articles are archived by Portico

Indexing and Abstracting Services:

  • DOAJ

Senior editors

Editor(s)-in-Chief: Béla Pécz

Managing Editor(s): Katalin Balázsi

Co-Editor-in-Chief: Rafal Dunin-Borkowski
(for theory and microscopy techniques)

Co-Editor-in-Chief: Pavel Hozak
(for biomedical sciences)

Editorial Board

  • Filippo Giannazzo - Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR), Institute for Microelectronics and Microsystems (IMM), Catania, Italy
  • Werner Grogger - FELMI, Graz University of Technology, Graz, Austria
  • János Lábár - Institute of Technical Physics and Materials Science, Centre for Energy Research, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest, Hungary
  • Erik Manders - Faculty of Science, SILS, University of Amsterdam, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • Ohad Medalia - Department of Biochemistry, Zürich University, Zürich, Switzerland
  • Rainer Pepperkok - EMBL, Heidelberg, Germany
  • Aleksander Recnik - J. Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Sara Sandin - Division of Structural Biology & Biochemistry, School of Biological Sciences, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • Nobuo Tanaka - Electron microscope Lab., Ecotopia Science Institute and Dept. of Applied Physics, Nagoya University, Japan
  • Paul Verkade - Wolfson Bioimaging Facility, Schools of Biochemistry and Physiology & Pharmacology, Biomedical Sciences Building, University of Bristol, Bristol, UK

Dr Pécz, Béla
Resolution and Discovery
Institute of Technical Physics and Materials Science
Centre for Energy Research, Hungarian Academy of Sciences
H-1525 Budapest, PO Box 49, Hungary